Licenses

Dog Licenses

Expand Licenses Menu [ + ]

Town Clerk Services

Town Clerk

Select a Department

Dog Licenses

All dogs 6 months or older, living in Hartford must be licensed on or before June 30.  License provides the information to locate the owner in a timely manner.  If the dog is caught by animal control without a license fines may be imposed.  The license law is enforced by animal control.

You must renew your license annually in the month of June.  A dog can be licensed at any time during the year, but you will incur a late fee if you file after June and the dog was 6 months old prior to June 30.  If the dog turns 6 months of age after the June deadline, you will not incur a late fee if they are registered at 6 months of age. Proof of rabies vaccination and spaying or neutering, if applicable, is required.

 You can apply for a dog license in person or via mail.  Please enclose a self-addressed, stamped envelope with your license request.  Mailed-in requests should include owner information: name, address, phone number and dog information: name, breed, color.


Proof of rabies vaccination and spaying or neutering, if applicable, is required.

 

Acceptable forms of payment: Cash, Money Order, Bank Certified Check, Mastercard, Visa, Discover or American Express.

 

Town and City Clerk

550 Main Street

Hartford, CT 06103

 

FEES
Neutered male, spayed female $8.00
Male, female $19.00
Late licensing penalty $1.00 per month or fraction thereof
Transfer of ownership / Change of residence (town) $1.00 for new license/tag if already licensed in Connecticut
Lost tag $0.50
Hunting, Trapping and Sport Fishing Licenses

Residents

Firearms Hunting Fishing, adult Fishing License under age 16 Hunting and Fishing Trapping Jr. Trapping Jr. Firearms Hunting Non-Residents Firearms Hunting Fishing Hunting and Fishing 3-Day Fishing Over 65 Lifetime Handicapped (restrictions apply) Pheasant Tags HIP Migratory Bird Stamp $28.00 $40.00 no license required with licensed adult $56.00 $50.00 $15.00 $15.00 (Marine $30) $134.00 $80.00 $176.00 $32.00 (Marine $60) FREE FREE $28.00 $4.00 $15.00

All licenses expire on December 31 of the year issued, except permanent licenses issued to those 65 years of age or over, and pheasant tags which are valid through early January.

NOTE: Please contact the Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection, 79 Elm Street, Hartford, CT 06106-5127 (860) 424-3105 for the following permits: Shotgun or Archery Spring Turkey Hunting Lottery, Firearms Deer Hunting, Fall Wild Turkey Hunting, Small Game and Deer Hunting Archery, Deer Lottery, etc.

 

Any blind, deaf or mobility impaired person who is an owner or keeper of a dog trained to guide and assist him shall receive a license and dog tag at no fee.

HARTFORD CITY HALL ADDRESS: 550 Main Street, Hartford, CT 06103 PHONE: (860)757-9311 HOURS: 8AM - 5PM